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Kerfuffles
What if partner fails to alert your bid?  

Continue bidding as tho it had been alerted.
Partner knows but neglected to announce it.  

If you or your partner become declarer, you 
should announce the omission before the 
opening lead is selected.  

If your side is defending, keep quiet. After 
play is completed, call the director & 
explain.  An adjustment may be warranted.  
        +++++++++++++++++++++

What if partner gives an incorrect 
explanation?  Keep quiet.  Curiously, you 
are not responsible for knowing your card!
        +++++++++++++++++++++

What if partner correctly alerts your bid, 
and you then realize you forgot that 
convention and you meant something else.  

 D
Continue bidding as though no alert had 
been made.  Do not alter your intended bids 
because of UI (Unauthorized Information).
The opponents have received a correct 
explanation of your agreements.  You have 
no obligation to explain your brain cramp.
                      ++++++++

If a defender explains a missed alert before 
the play of the hand is completed, that 
defender has given UI (Unauthorized 
Information) to partner.   
                   
        +++++++++++++++++++++

What if an explanation (requested or not) 
is given and explainer's partner reacts in 

an agitated manner?     

          Calmly, call the director.
        +++++++++++++++++++++

                       Disclaimer
ACBL rules evolve and change.  
Consult a  director for current policies.

ALERT!
What bids are alertable?  Any convention in 

RED on the current ACBL convention card.

Also, alert any partnership agreement not 
obvious to your opponents. 

(Conventions in BLUE are announced, as in 

Transfer, Forcing, 15-17 or Could be short.)

What bids are NOT alertable?  

Any convention in BLACK on the ACBL Card.

CUE BIDS are self-alerting.  No need to Alert.

What should you say when partner makes an 

alertable bid?       Alert.     Nothing more.  

Give no explanation unless one is requested.

           +++++++++++++++++++++

              Inquiring about an Alert

Good query: Please explain the alert.

Bad query:  Is that Michaels?   Is that Drury?   

Is that Jacoby?  Is that weak?   Is that …?

Guideline: Never suggest an explanation. 

                           ++++++++
A player may request an explanation during the 
auction only when it is that player's turn to bid.  

It is usually preferable to wait for the auction to 
be completed, then ask for an explanation of the 
entire auction:  Please explain the auction.

Asking about a specific bid may give UI  
(Unauthorized Information) to your partner (and 
may warn the opponents about your specific 
concern).

Of course, if you intend to bid (rather than pass) 
you may have good reason to request an 
explanation before you choose your bid.  
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Continue bidding as tho it had been alerted.
Partner knows but neglected to announce it.  

If you or your partner become declarer, you 
should announce the omission before the 
opening lead is selected.  

If your side is defending, keep quiet. After 
play is completed, call the director & 
explain.  An adjustment may be warranted.  
        +++++++++++++++++++++

What if partner gives an incorrect 
explanation?  Keep quiet.  Curiously, you 
are not responsible for knowing your card!
        +++++++++++++++++++++

What if partner correctly alerts your bid, 
and you then realize you forgot that 
convention and you meant something else.  

 Don't react. (That's difficult, but try.)

Continue bidding as though no alert had 
been made.  Do not alter your intended bids 
because of UI (Unauthorized Information).
The opponents have received a correct 
explanation of your agreements.  You have 
no obligation to explain your brain cramp.
                      ++++++++

If a defender explains a missed alert before 
the play of the hand is completed, that 
defender has given UI (Unauthorized 
Information) to partner.   

                 Director, please!

        +++++++++++++++++++++

What if an explanation (requested or not) 
is given and explainer's partner reacts in 

an agitated manner?     

      
        +++++++++++++++++++++

                       Disclaimer
ACBL rules evolve and change.  
Consult a  director for current policies.
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